Myrtle the Turtle

P1120445This sweet big girl had been camping out at the same spot for a couple of days on the other side of my driveway.  I went over to check on her and she had been digging a hole.  I’m not positive but I believe she laid some eggs in that hole.  This happened around June 1st.  I did a little bit of internet research and it said if she laid eggs, they should hatch anywhere from 45 to 90 days, so I’ll be checking the site come July 15 and every day thereafter just to see if there has been any change.  I looked in the hole and all I could see was mud and the hole.  Hopefully, I’ll see the pitter patter of little hatchling feet in the coming weeks or months.  She was so cute.  I just had a couple of little chats with her and she just carefully watched me.

Later, I saw where cars were slowing down in front of my house, so I went out to see why and she had her butt parked in the middle of the road, so I picked her up (to which she tried to fight me) and put her on the other side of the road in which she was headed.  Haven’t seen her since.

I’m not sure, but I believe her to be a Mississippi Mud Turtle, and I named her Myrtle, for lack of a better name.

________________________________

On another note, I have finally updated my 101 Things page.  Oh, and now not only have I snagged me a couple of cool jobs online (just got a second one today that I start Tuesday) that I can work from home, but I’ve also earned the title Freelance Writer, since I’ve sold my first article online.  Nice!  Dreams can come true.

I hope y’all are doing well.  I’ll try to establish a routine of regular posting.  Still working on my schedule.  Now that I’m working from home, I’m busier than ever, but a lot less stressed, if that makes sense.  At least I’m busy doing things I love.  Working in the yard, cooking, cleaning, hangin’ with my girls, writing, working online, among other things and just enjoying life.  I hope you are enjoying life, as well.  *smooch*

Love ya!

Carol

7 thoughts on “Myrtle the Turtle

  1. Seasonsgirl says:

    What a neat turtle :)

  2. cobbies69 says:

    So pleased for you Squidge,, and wish your looking after nature career progresses as well…smiling.. catch up on Camp. ;)

    • Thanks brother! I’m sorry to say I am behind on emails as I’m sure you have guessed by now. I have been swamped! I haven’t forgotten you. I will read what you sent and respond as quickly as I can. I’m working as a Virtual Executive Assistant for two different firms online(one is a 30 hrs per week job, the other 15), plus working as a Freelance Writer for one guy’s social media site producing 12 different articles, and as a Freelance Writer just producing various articles for various publications(anywhere from 1 to 14 articles per day). I have stretched myself a bit too thin. Not too much free time right now. I am mainly working like this to save for a vacation we are taking before school starts back. It’s the only way for us to go, so I have to earn as much as I can within the next couple of weeks. I am sooo tired. But it’s work I like and everyone is pretty nice that I deal with, so it’s all good. One job will be over in 6 days. The other writing job will slow down once I go on vacation. How are you? I hope you are well. Been thinkin’ about ya. I’ll try to catch up soon. Love ya man! ;) *hug*

      • cobbies69 says:

        Hey Squidge,, yeh am okay,, my tunnel has light showing and reading this makes it brighter.. So pleased to hear all is working out for you,, and this holiday break comes together, you deserve it.. hope to hear from you soon,, take care Squidge, dont over do it….and all my fondest regards to you and family.. catch up shortly..

  3. Sonel says:

    What a beautiful turtle indeed and thanks for saving her. :D
    All of the best wishes for you hon and I am glad you are doing so much better and it’s great to see you posting again. Missed you! :D *hugs*

    • She was a pretty girl. I would try to save any creature. Gotta help those who can’t help themselves. She did not appreciate my picking her up, though. LOL. My best wishes for you, as well. Missed you, too! *hug* :)

Leave a Reply

