Epic Fail

Week 11 of 52…  (I failed at posting for week 10)  :(

Top o’ the marnin’ to ya!  Oh, savin’ a bit of the irish for this marnin’, even though, yes I know, St. Paddy’s was yesterday, which, in celebration of that day, my leeetle squish and I made lime cookies yesterday evening. She had been gone on Spring Break with her best chum, Huntleigh and her family, and just got home yesterday afternoon, so Mama cooked chicken ‘n’ dumplins, and we had supper over there. Then home to make cookies with my bambino. And did not let her out of my sight! Gone for almost a week, I was in baby withdrawals.

P1120249

Such a crazy and stressful week for me. Hallie left on Tuesday evening to go to Lake Washington, and I had planned to work on the business start-up thingy every night while she was gone, plus take care of the furbabes, clean the house, find time to do this 21-day meditation challenge, squeeze in time to write, etc. So, neglecting friends that needed chill time together, I immersed myself in as much as I possibly could to keep myself busy and keep my mind off missing Hallie. Did it work? No, not really. Did it make the time go quickly. Yeah, pretty much. But it still felt like she was gone for a month. Yes, I know, I am pitiful.

Well, like I said, H left on Tuesday. Carlie left on Wednesday. I have been soooo worried. You can check out earlier posts on Carlie. She’s our black panther baby. Princess Carlotta was one post. Yes, she thinks she is a princess, she should be spoiled and spoon fed. Well, she is spoiled, but no spoon. Anywho, went out to feed the babes Wednesday evening and she was nowhere to be found. Of course, Tiger came running, as he is surely to never miss a meal, that growin’ boy that he is. He’s my devil cat, in earlier postings I’ve explained how he’s trying to kill me on multiple occasions. Part of me wonders if Carlie ran away because she was tired of being beat up on. Tiger made it a daily habit to give her a good thrashing, and would show power over her by pinning her to the ground while she’s creaming UNCLE!!!! He’s a bully, I tell you! Pure meanness, that one. He sure wasn’t that way when he came to be a part of the family. Scaredy kitten is what he was. Well, not anymore. I wonder if Carlie finally had had enough and ran off. I called and called. I looked in the shop, the storage room, the barn, under the house, walked the land calling her in every direction. No sign of her. Drove up and down the country road. No Carlie. :(

Well, Hallie came home and I had to break the news. And needless to say, no tear was spared. She went out in the yard to sit with Buddy and wept. He was kissing her, trying to make her feel better, and then gently laid his head beside her leg, trying to comfort her. I joined her in the grass, and she just laid her head in my lap and I caressed her hair while the tears fell. Oh Carlie, please come back home?

Ya know, after Sammy left, he was gone for maybe a month, before he came by for a visit, just to let us know he was alright, plump from being fed well, and didn’t stay. A short visit to say hello, not to worry, and then he left again. He’d come by every few months to do the same. Weird right? But how thoughtful of him to let us know we needn’t worry. I sure hope Carlie does the same. She’s never left before.

Anyway, I slacked on posting for week 10 of 52. Sorry. I failed at posting every single week of the year. And, there’s no good excuse. All I had to do was fit in 10-15 minutes to post, and I simply didn’t do it. I thought about it while in the midst of a project, and then forgot again by the time I was done.
P1120257

Oh, and as for being sickly, Hallie and I are both over our sinus infection/allergy stuff, for the most part.  And then I went and covered myself in poison ivy.  My own fault really.  I had the oil on my work gloves from the last time I worked in the yard, failed to wash them, rubbed my face, and I suppose my legs.  It spread from there.  I am miserable.  I’d gladly go back and take the allergy/sinus stuff if I could say goodbye to this poison ivy!  Excuse me while I go claw my skin off.  Mama is still coughing and suffering from her severe bronchitis.  Poor baby has been sick for a month.

So, I guess I’m off to update my list of 101 things in 1001 days, and to let you know, the lime cookies turned out quite delicious. Hallie put cream cheese icing on hers. I just ate them plain. Tasted almost like a margarita in a cookie. Yum! Oh, and after all that sweat and flour and muscle and time we put into those yummy cookies, I should hope so….NOT! We used the boxed kind, so it took what, less than 5 minutes to mix the ingredients, ball up and transfer to a cookie sheet, pop in the oven for 8 minutes, and VOILA! Yummy cookies! Hey, sometimes, ya gotta simplify. And ain’t nuttin wrong with using the boxed set of prepacked ingredients. It’s all good.

So, if ya have a prayer request, please holla, and I’ll post.

1) Please pray for Carlie to be safe and well.
2) Please pray for Carlie to come by sometime and let us know she’s ok.
3) Please pray for Mama to get well and feel good again.
4) Please pray for Patrick to find the woman of his dreams, fall in love and get married. Pray he finds her this year.

Have a mahvelous Monday.  Know that I love ya!  *smooch*  And let me know if I forgot anything.  I’m not operating on all cylinders this week.

Oh, and I think I’m just crazy enough to do Camp Nanowrimo in April.  I’m getting ready now, establishing some sort of writing schedule, and gathering all my notes for this new sci-fi/fantasy/adventure I’m working on.  Why do I put so much on myself?  Do I enjoy setting myself up for failure?  Self-sabotage?  Who knows?  I’m doing it anyway.  We’ll see where I end up.  By the way, working on 2 different stories at the same time.  I think I’ll be smart about it and put the second one on the back burner for now, and just work on the main one.  Make sense?  Yeah, I’m surprised, too.  ;)

-Carol

5 thoughts on “Epic Fail

  1. cobbies69 says:

    Hey ya,, how ya doin; nice read,, and wishing you mum well,,ps I have signed up for Campnano as well,, got the start of another story,, although I am not sure if I will get through it,, just thought I would try.. may be encourage each other..;)

    Like

    • Hey you! Tanx! I hope you and your sweet family are well. Mama is better. Not quite 100% well, but so much better, so we are thankful. You will do well with Camp Nano! Yes, we should definitely encourage each other. I’m getting really psyched about it. 5 days to go, man! It’s almost here, and I am totally read this time. I have all my one handed foods and drinks ready, got my desk and notes, desktop comp and laptop ready, and my watch alarm will be set. I plan on getting no less than 2,000 words per day. I’ll even work on it during workday hours when I’m caught up on everything and during my lunch hour. ;) We are gonna win!

      Like

Leave a Reply

