Sunday Post: Expression

I saw the theme and knew, immediately, which photo to use.  I actually have a couple.  But for this post, I’ll go with “Facial Expression”.  Hallie has so many funny-faced pictures, but this one, in particular, is one of my all-time favorites.  It’s not posed or trying to be silly.  It’s the real deal.

This was taken at a carnival when we were in Gatlinburg, TN, back in May 2005. She was having a blast!  Can’t even tell she was sick, can ya?

This marks my Day 43 of Project 366.

If you’d like to join us in this entertaining weekly challenge, or see more amazing shots and interpretations, the 2012 Water Dragon Weekly Sunday Post is led by Jake:

http://jakesprinters.wordpress.com/2012/02/11/sunday-postexpression/

Y’all go out there and have a beautiful day!  I think I’m gonna stay in a while and be cozy with the heat going and my cup o’ joe, and my toasty slippers.  It’s 27 degrees out there.  Brrrrr.  I do like cold weather, though.  Like it better if it would snow or hang icicles.  Makes for awesome picture-taking opportunities.

*hug*

21 thoughts on “Sunday Post: Expression

  1. Sonel says:

    Awww…what a beautiful expression…and no, who can look or feel sick when you’re having so much fun..hehehe. Kids are so awesome! Beautiful photo and post! :)

  2. orples says:

    The un-posed (is that even a word ?) action shots are always the best. This shot makes me want to be a kid again. Looks like Hallie was having a ball! Great shot.

    • I know, right?! LOVE the action shots! You said, “…makes me want to be a kid again.” Girl, I’m 43 and refuse to grow up. I’m still a kid at heart and probably always will be. When I’d take her to daycare at 2 years old, I’d be in a nice suit and heels, and I’d see a water puddle… I taught her to jump in water puddles right there. We had the best time splashing water. People looked at me like I was insane, but do you think I cared? haha! She has helped me stay and feel like a kid, although I do occasionally have to be “mean mama” from time-to-time. ;)

      She did have a really great time at that carnival. At least during this ride and some of the others. She, along with another child from her daycare, had salmonella poisoning. She didn’t show signs until we got to TN. Poor thing suffered most of the trip but she did not want to go home. She even wanted to do the white water rafting, so we did. She’s a tough cookie. Always has been.

      Thanks!

      • orples says:

        Sorry to hear about that salmonella poisoning. Bummer and great way to spoil a good time for sure. Hallie looks like she can weather a lot. Now that my kids are grown, and gone, I’ll tell you now, you can’t make enough happy memories. Childhood just doesn’t last that long. And being a mean-momma is always necessary at some point. I think deep down the kids actually appreciate the guidance, even if it sometimes takes 20 years to admit it. LOL. I never really truly appreciated my ‘mean’ Momma until I had children of my own. Then, I sometimes wondered why she let me live. I was a rebellious teenager at times. LOL.

      • Yeah, she had a rough case of it, the poor baby, but she didn’t want to stay in the bed. She wanted to go out and have fun, so we filled her up on meds and did what she wanted. She’s always been a rather strong person. She can handle a lot more than I could at that young age.

        Oh, I know. We try to make happy, fun memories every single day. We belly laugh every day, mostly because she is friggin’ hilarious and I’m so silly. I make sure she always knows, every day, how special and awesome she is and how loved.

        When it comes to being mean mama, I feel pitiful when it comes to disciplining her. I have to in order for her to learn to do better, and that there’s a consequence to certain things. I let a lot go, asking myself if it’s really gonna matter in 20 years. But I want her to get the important stuff solid in that brain of hers. Thing is, she’s always soooo good about taking discipline. She always tells me she understands that she needs to be punished, and that’s what makes me feel bad. Those kids really do appreciate the guidance and for our ability to discipline and teach what’s right and wrong. I think they get it. I was never as understanding as she is, though. My mom always told me that she couldn’t wait for me to have a daughter so that I could be put through what I put her through. I don’t think that’s gonna happen, though. Hallie is grounded. I never was. She’s headstrong and does her own thing, no matter what everyone else is doing. She’s more in tune with her identity than I ever was, or even am now. She’s much smarter and spiritual than I was at 12. All I did was rebel, talk back, cop an attitude, be hateful and rude, well….once my biological father left us, I was. But then, I didn’t have great parenting on either side. I try very hard to be the best parent I can to Hallie. That’s my number one role in life. And it’s very important to be silly and laugh and make happy and fond memories daily. Thanks, Marcy! ;)

      • orples says:

        Not to burst your bubble Carol, but 12 is not 13. The hormones have not set in yet. Beware! My oldest child and I were the best of buds, then he dropped his halo. My mother’s whammy worked . . . ” I hope you have a kid that drives you just as crazy as you drive me!” . . . alas her wish came true. My little angel had disappeared. LOL. Hopefully, you will be one of the rare Moms that doesn’t suffer as most of us ‘seasoned’ parents did during the teen years. Although, my youngest child wasn’t nearly as bad. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for your. Hormones and pier pressure create monsters out of the best of kids. No worries, after a few bumps, most kids grow out of it. Thank God. :) I just thought I’d give you a little heads up, so you don’t think it’s something you did or didn’t do. You sound like a great Mom, so maybe you will be spared. I was a single working mother, with 3 teenaged boys at the time. I spent the majority of their teenaged years trying to have a nervous breakdown. But, obviously I survived. My kids and I are even all GOOD friends again. Keep me posted. Later, Marcy.

      • Oh, please don’t burst my bubble. I like it here inside the bubble. tehe! Oh, yes, I’m just treasuring these precious moments before all hell breaks loose. I remember what those teen years were like and I know I’m in for some rough weather, especially since I’ve raised her to speak her mind, with a bit of respect, of course. Although, it isn’t always respectful. Still, it’s good for her to speak her mind anyhow. Yeah, the hormones can drive a person crazy. I just hope she won’t be as bad as I was. I was always pushing the envelope and soooo rude and disprespectful. I did some pretty stupid things. I’m sure she’ll do her share of stupid. I just hope it’s not as destructive as mine was. She’s a lot more grounded and smarter than I was, so maybe she’ll try to use her head. And she does know she has someone she can talk to and trust. She knows I have her back, no matter what. I didn’t have that. She tells me a lot of stuff she knows she could get in trouble for, but the trusting me enough to confide keeps her out of trouble. Stuff that I would not otherwise find out. Plus, she always feels rather regretful and guilty for those transgressions and feels the need to free of herself of them with me. Here’s hoping she won’t be too big of a big hairy, scary monster. I can handle a little one. I also know it’s not the fault of the parent how the kid turns out. We are all responsible for our own actions, no matter how we are raised and no matter what we have faced. God gave us our own free will, our own brain, mind, heart. It’s up to us to make good decisions or screw our own life up. I’m a single/divorced mom and I did work full-time before my lay off a year ago. Sucks to not be earning money, but I’m thankful I still have money for food and bills, plus to be here more for Hallie. Gotta look for all the silver linings, no matter what life offers you. Got a lot o’ silver linings. ;) Glad you and your kids are all GOOD friends again. ;) *hug*
        Later tater!
        -Carol

      • orples says:

        There is not a reply key on your last comment, thus I picked up our conversation here. However, I just had to add another reply to the one below . . . The greatest gift (which you are obviously already giving) is that of honest and open communication between parent and child. I was blessed with a mother I could confide in, no matter where the conversation led. I think when children KNOW they can talk to their parents without being ridiculed (as opposed to being corrected) for their mistakes/feelings, they emerge as whole and sane individuals. The transition between childhood and adulthood is scary for most kids. As they begin spreading their wings you can expect turmoil along the way as their feathers get caught in society’s expectations of who they should and should not be. The hormonal changes a child’s body goes through are unavoidable and will, I am sure at times, have you wanting to pull your hair out. Just remember when they were happening to you, then grin, and bear it. Those days will pass. But first, put on your seat belt and prepare yourself, young lady. I doubt (even though Hallie is an angel now) that you will be spared at least a few rocky moments. Such is the course of Nature. :) . . . just a little motherly advice from a friend and someone who has been there and now lives to tell the tale. LOL. Take care, Later, Marcy

      • Did you not get my reply I posted this morning around 10:30ish?

        Thanks, Marcy, for your motherly advice and for your friendship. I’m sure I’m in for the ride of my life. I’ll try to grin and bear it when those moments come. She gives me leetle hormonal moments, but those are ez pz compared to when she goes through some more upcoming growing pains. The worst hasn’t hit yet and I’m scared of those days. I try to instill in her self confidence and self identity and try to teach her not to care what others say and think. She gets it, but it’s hard for her, just as it’s hard for everyone, no matter the age. At least now at 43, I finally DO get it and I could care less what others say or think about me, although at times, when I get the once over, I wanna snatch their eyes outta their head. ;). I hope she gets to that place before her 40s – not caring what they say or think. ;) Catch ya later! *hug*
        -Carol

      • Oh, so you got the reply, just no reply key to hit? I’m a little slow sometimes. I’m blonde, after all. ;)

  3. Cee Neuner says:

    Got to love that expression. Wonderful!

  4. sonsothunder says:

    Awesome Photo..stay warm.

  5. cobbies69 says:

    this picture actually speaks for itself. that is what pictures are supposed to do…;)

  6. jakesprinter says:

    I love it my friend :)

  7. Gilly Gee says:

    She is priceless bless her, what an expressive lovely face :-)

Leave a Reply

